free tutorial DIY ; Playing with Pebeo Prisme paints

I am in the middle of deciding what to keep from my craft studio and what will not still be good after a year ( we hope to go back to Europe early next year) .   I came across some Pebeo Prisme paints that I bought at Micheals last year.prisme paints  Since I do not think they will last a year in a storage place I decided to try them out.  I took some mini composition books and a brush and had fun painting and dropping different colors on the covers. prisme paints 6 covers  1 Then I held them at different angles and let the colors mixed.  It made a thick marbling effect.  I took a toothpick and swirled them around a bit and left them to dry.prisme paints 6 covers 3 It takes 72 hours for the paint to completely dry and I think you should dry them in a well ventilated room. prisme paints 6 covers

When the covers dry, the thick paint makes a honey comb design ( you have to have a thick layer of paint to get this effect).  The paint dries glossy and the colors are brilliant.  In person, it has a 3D effect, that is not captured well in the photos.  I put it on paper and tags too.  prisme paints  paper 1 prisme paints  paper  From the first photo you can see the thick dripping effect.  You are supposed to clean the brush with mineral spirits but I had none.  I just rinsed by brush in water and wiped it clean on a cloth between colors.

I really like the effects and the way you cannot predict how it will look when it dries.  I thought I would share my experiences with you.  If you have experimented with this paint please share your experiences in the comment section.  When we return from our trip I will purchase some more of these paints to play with.  Happy creating.

4 thoughts on “free tutorial DIY ; Playing with Pebeo Prisme paints

Leave a Reply

