blue collage ( now gifts from the Sea) free mixed media collage tutorial, part 2

I rolled out air dried clay and cut it into 4 pieces.  I added rolls of clay to make a sea shore and sand area on two of the largest pieces.  I took different stamps to make textures in the sand areas and let the clay dry overnight.Image  Then I places sea shells from Hawaii on the dried clay to get an idea of how I might want to make the composition.  This is just an idea and may not be how the collage actually turns out. Image The next step is to paint the sand and the ocean sections of the dried clay.  I used a variety of metallic paints ( lumiere metallic paint, Inka metallic rub, Mary Stewart paint) ; you can see them on the side of this photo.ImageWhen the paint dried, I sprayed the clay pieces and the canvas substrate with a glossy sealing varnish.  Now I am ready to start to embellish the collage.  This is the fun creative part since I let the collage talk to me about how it should be finished. lol

Leave a Reply

