blue collage; Gifts from the Sea; free mixed media collage tutorial, part 1

Decided today to blog my process of creating a new collage piece; called Gifts from the Sea.  This is a free mixed media collage tutorial.

I get so hung up on being perfect the first time that this experiment will be helpful to learn how to play with color and materials and to make mistakes.  Mistakes lead to discovery.  I am interested in discovery at this time in my life.  This will be a series of posts as the collage comes together.  So here goes:

 

I started with a plan 11 x14 canvas and embossed wallpaper scraps; Image I cut out different pieces to make different textures and glued them on to the canvas.  Then I got out my metallic paints ( lumiere metallic paint , Inka metallic rub) and started to paint.  I ended up with this; Image This morning when it was dried I decided that the colors were too dark.  I have had some darkness  in my life recently but I feel like I am moving toward the light and discovery so…I squeezed on colors ( Martha Stewart acrylic paints) that make me happy..Imagethis is not the way I normally work but what the heck…lets see what happens..ImageI like these colors better, some of the darkness is underneath but the blues and greens of the sea and of hope are on top.  I will let this dry and see what happens next.  This is what I do with the extra paint on my brush…for my next collage project…lolImage  I will continue to record the progress of this mixed media  collage.  Have to do some real work now…oh nooooo

Leave a Reply

